Unmotivated Translator’s tale! Ch.1

I’ve discovered now that there are so many translations of Yarukinashi eiyuutan out there (I mean not only in English) and now I’m feeling even more pressure on me. I am an amateur translator and I am so slow that it makes me wonder if I should continue what I’m doing or maybe it’d be better to step aside and leave this novel to someone better than me.

Also, WN translations are so far ahead of me that I’m a little discouraged now. So many chapters to catch up on>< I shouldn’t read them, or I’ll start comparing them with mine. And then I’ll get depressed for sure… Even when I just read the description I was so embarrassed to realize that mine is so horrible (//>////<///) Though I’m not mentally prepared to edit any of my earlier translations, which means I’m stuck with this embarrassment for a while.

On the other hand, I don’t want to step aside and leave this LN for someone else. I started this endeavor with the goal of finishing at least one novel. Even if readers will hate me. I’m doing it for myself, too. It deepens my understanding of Japanese and helps me gain experience in translational work. My earliest works were done when I still had little knowledge of japanese and no experience at all, but now I am more confident in my abilities. I’m not the best, but not the worst either. (At least I hope so😅)

Also, WN translations makes me motivated to pull myself together and get to work. I would’ve done so right now had I not have the thesis that I’m totally supposed to be concentrating on right now. *sad*

I hope that I’ll still have this motivation if I survive the graduation. Ahem, I mean when. 

Tl;dr: I’m not dropping anything, just a little discouraged. But I’ll get over it. 

Okay, that’s more than enough for today.

See ya!

2 thoughts on “Unmotivated Translator’s tale! Ch.1

  1. You were doing a good job on Unmotivated Hero. A few minor editing errors (woulda left comment at end of episodes but no comment section there. Shrug)
    I love the web novel. Frustratingly this tale seems to be cursed with dropping translators.
    Hope you get back to translation of the light novel.
    Thanks for the chapters

    Like

    1. Thanks for your feedback! I’m happy to know that there’s someone caring enough to leave a comment and even notice there’s a part of Story 6 out 😅 . Now I have to get back to it and the rest of the chapters sooner, thanks for the motivation)
      And I could’ve sworn I got comments section turned on on the pages 🤔 . I’ll fix it as soon as I can. Your input will be appreciated!

      Like

Leave a comment